Lamb Stew

Yesterday was a good day, it didn’t start off great but it quickly became a day I thoroughly enjoyed. I’ll keep you guessing as to what made me have a good day. But for now let me share my celebratory meal or rather meat. Yes, before you begin to ask food is thee best way for me to celebrate or even be jubilant about! 

I got some lovely lamb from Sainsbury

Different sized pieces but still good and also a cheap easy meal for £4.42 a pack. Prices vary according to weight. I wasted no time and proceeded to marinate this lovely goodness. 

I did end up putting a dash of olive oil after marinating the lamb.

Guys it does not really matter about the brand of anything. Whether the spices or the meat or whatever I show on this blog get what you can and substitution is a great way to make a meal go further if you don’t have these particular foods at hand. More on that later

I let the lamb marinate overnight covered in the fridge. But you can put it in for a couple of hours if you are pressed for time. Or like me get over excited and want to make the meal that day. Hehehehe 

Two things, I left the meat reach room temperature and heated up my pan, and browned the meat on both sides and did my vegetables whilst the meat browned.

I left the meat on the side so that I could cook my vegetables. 

I used mixed frozen green, red and yellow peppers because I didn’t have any fresh at hand, but you can use fresh as well I just use what I have at home instead of having to buy things at the store all the time.

Next I browned my onions and added the rest of the veg to let it cook not thoroughly for approximately five minutes before adding the Lamb back.

Put my meat back with a cube of stock, I boiled water before mixing them together 

I added tomatoes next with a half a teaspoon of sugar to balance off the bitterness of the tomaoes

Covered my pot and left for a minimum of 1 hour 30 minutes. This meal is really good and comforting for those cold winter nights that leave you cold literally from the inside out if your looking for something to give you a hug from the inside this stew is really it. I’ve made step by step details listening to friends about having pictures. From now on I’ll do the same for my recipes. The aim is to give you something really simple to follow anyone can remake, and cheap too.

Lamb Stew:

  • Stewing Lamb
  • 1 Onion 
  • 2 Tomatoes
  • Red, Yellow and Green Peppers
  • 1 Carrot 
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Sugar
  • 1 Stock Cube
  • Dash of Olive Oil
  • 1 Teaspoon Garam Masala
  • 2 Teaspoons Jerk Seasoning (All Purpose)
  • 2 Tablespoons Dark Soy
  • Pinch of Black Pepper 

Served with our classic Southern Africa side dishes, Spinach (Greens), Maize Meal aka Phaleche, aka Sadza, aka Pap…

Ciao

Leave a Reply

