Coconut Chicken

I’m going to start today by sharing something that we do in our household that really saves time and actually keeps chicken well. We bulk buy chicken and soon as it comes I will spice all of it with some good seasoning that I have at home. Whatever is in my spice cupboard at the time that’s suitable I’ll use. From them put it into the freezer and easily take it out the freezer to defrost in the morning whenever we need it. (Handy Tips)

Now to my coconut chicken recipe using one of these frozen chickens. First the spices I used

I do healthy meals a lot of the time, but comforting food is really the go for this cold weather, this coconut chicken just really hits the spot! 

I’m actually liking Jamie Olivers Szechuan Pepper Chillies, but you can use any crushed chilli with black peppercorns it really doesn’t matter. And the chopped garlic on the side, this is prep before getting the meal ready season your onions.

Heat up your pan, you can add a bit of oil or not. Generally I won’t add oil because chicken generally will bring off a lot of oil as you cook it. Brown your chicken on both sides. Most of my meat if I’m going to do a stew I will seal the meat that I will use whether chicken, beef, lamb or whatever. So that’s step number one. Then leave it to the side once it’s browned and start with the next step is to sauté your onions and garlic just until they tinge with a bit of brown. You then add tomatoes 

Let that cook for about a minute.

Add your Red Kidney Beans, pour out some of the liquid in the tin out and use some of it in your pan then add your seasoning 

Don’t let that cook to long about another minute or two and return your chicken back into the pan

I seriously love seeing pictures with the smoke coming off now that’s some real cooking bwoy!!! Hehehe. Ok. So then add your coconut milk 

Before I used coconut milk I used to think well isn’t this going to make the food sweet?! Well if any of you are thinking that trust me it won’t it just gives it an umph! Flavour. Use the same tin from the coconut milk to use as a measurement for half water. Let that simmer for about 15-20 minutes depending on what heat you are using but always make sure to check and taste and adjust according to your tastebuds. 

I paired my coconut chicken with some roast potatoes and stir fry veg if you need any ideas for what you could have this delicious dish with

Coconut Chicken

  • Chicken
  • Jerk Seasoning 
  • Szechuan Pepper Chillies 
  • Coconut Milk
  • Red Kidney Beans
  • Usavi Mix
  • 1 Onion
  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • 2 Tomatoes 

Ciao…

Leave a Reply

