Fried Chicken 

on

So… I been on a hiatus, kind of enjoying my holiday a bit too much. But then this is more a second home, or is it the first home!? I’m still conflicted on that one. I made this recipe a whole back but took me longer to write it up. Now that I have come up for air let me flood you or rather fill you with the better than KFC slap your mama fried Chicken. No really though, it’s that goooodddd!!!!

I really don’t understand anyone who doesn’t like fried Chicken, I literally my brian malfunctions at the thought of someone saying they don’t like fried chicken. When my husband said he doesn’t like fried Chicken I felt like there was a glitch in my head like, but what does he mean though?  I don’t understand the words coming out your mouth Willis….

The process for this may be lengthy but it’s really worth it and I promise you the recipe follows ingredients you all have in your pantry. Well at least I hope you do!

First thing is first, let’s marinade the Chicken. Not everyone has buttermilk or buys it but that’s a quick fix. Using either lemon juice or vinegar just one tablespoon into some milk, stir that and let it rest for fifteen minutes and that will be your buttermilk. Once that’s done, mix it with crushed garlic or rather pureed garlic, paprika and a some chilli and garlic spice. Make sure you put your oven on at this point let it warm up.

So my spices may look different to my usual posts only because I’m in Botswana at the moment but the recipes will still be great i promise you no matter what country you can always find a substitute. 

Next your Chicken pieces, I used a range of different pieces. 

I put the paprika and crushed garlic in my Chicken then proceeded to pour the buttermilk over it.

Let that marinate for two hours in the fridge or overnight. 

Once your Chicken has had a nice swim in those juices. Prepare your pan of oil to deep fry, using whichever oil of preference I recommend extra virgin olive oil and let that heat up as you prepare the next steps.

Get some flour, I used self raising, I really don’t think it makes a difference whether you use bread flour or self raising flour. Try and see which works for you best. Then add a pinch of salt, pepper, cajun and cayenne (optional). And keep the remainder of the buttermilk don’t discard it just yet. Next bowl should be the buttermilk marinade, think of putting them in a line and then third bowl should be your breadcrumbs extra crispy. You can use store bought or toast bread and pulverise it. 

The following three steps are key to crispy chicken. Dip the chicken into the flour mix give it a good coating, next step back into the buttermilk mixture and last step into the breadcrumbs. Repeat the process for each piece of chicken. Or you can just roll them all at one go into each bowl. 

Make sure your oil is hot, try it out by just rolling some of the flour and buttermilk. If you have a big frying pan which I had but was lazy to use you can put all your Chicken in and fry it until its coated. Don’t let it over fry because this is the first step into making your chicken you don’t want to over cook it. Once your Chicken is done let it rest on some paper towels to get the oil out.

Cover your tray with foil. And put your chicken pieces on the tray and let it further cook for about 20-45 minutes depending on how big your pieces are. Don’t get all technical on me and start asking how to use a thermometer to check the temperature. I’m old school I just cut into the Chicken and see if it’s done or not. Lmao.

In the end you should have chicken to convert even the ones who don’t like fried chicken!!! 

Fried Chicken

Buttermilk Marinade

  • Buttermilk (Tbsp lemon juice and milk)
  • Garlic 
  • Chilli and Garlic seasoning 
  • Paprika

Flour Mix

  • Self Raising Flour
  • Paprika 
  • Cayenne Pepper 
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cajun Seasoning
  • Breadcrumbs 

Don’t forget your chicken!!

Enjoy my loves…

Ciao

Leave a Reply

